Previous Winners

Ishaan Bhimani
2019 Undergraduate Scholarship Winner

Ishaan is a combined BS/MS student at the University of Washington studying electrical engineering with a concentration in power electronics. He has been involved with the EcoCar Mobility Challenge competition, and has interned at Tesla, working to test and validate solar energy products. In addition to his engineering activities, Ishaan has engaged in activism for renewable energy. He was part of a campus-wide movement to encourage the UW to convert to 100% renewable energy, and he even helped organize and spoke at 2 press conferences supporting statewide renewable energy legislation. Ishaan hopes to use his engineering talents to help integrate renewables into the grid and combat climate change.

Kathryn Corp
2019 Scholarship Winner
Co-Sir Fraser Stoddart Scholar

Kathryn graduated with her PhD in chemistry from the University of Washington in the fall of 2019 and moved to Berkeley, CA to start her career as a Senior Engineer at Opus 12. Opus 12 is a spin-out from research done at Stanford University and was grown at Cyclotron Road (a business accelerator at Berkeley National Lab). Opus 12 converts CO2 into commodity chemicals – turning pollution and waste into a profit stream and cleaner air. Kathryn is thrilled to be putting her chemistry degree to use in a field that will have a huge impact on the climate for future generations.

Michael Enright
2019 Scholarship Winner
Co-Sir Fraser Stoddart Scholar

Michael is a postdoctoral research associate at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign working with Prof. Ralph Nuzzo on the development of luminescent solar concentrators (LSCs). Michael is developing strategies to maximize luminophore performance through synthesis of quantum dot heterostructures with broad visible region absorbance coupled with a downconverted, bright, near infrared emission. Michael is part of a project team striving to develop LSCs for building-integrated photovoltaic applications. Previously, he earned his doctorate in inorganic chemistry with Prof. Brandi Cossairt at the University of Washington in June 2019 for his work on the Synthesis of Colloidal Semiconductor Heterostructures. Michael first developed his interests in renewable energy research and chemistry as an undergraduate at Ripon College in Wisconsin.

Michael Nellist
2018 Scholarship Winner 
Sir Fraser Stoddart Scholar

Michael is a PhD candidate in Chemistry at the University of Oregon. He is motivated by the need to generate cleaner energy from renewable sources, as well as finding new ways to store that energy. Photoelectrochemical water splitting provides one promising route to do this, by capturing the energy from the sun and converting it into energy dense hydrogen fuel. His research investigates these systems using novel microscopy approaches that provide insight into the mechanisms by which water splitting takes place. This knowledge can be applied to make more efficient photoelectrochemical water splitting devices. Michael earned his bachelor degree in Chemistry at the State University of New York, College at Geneseo.  He earned his PhD in 2018 and now works at Intel.

Teresa Wang
2018 Undergraduate Scholarship Winner

Teresa graduated from the University of Washington in 2018 with a B.S. in Environmental Science and Resource Management, and minor in Architecture and a minor in Urban Ecological Design. At UW, she was heavily involved with UW Solar, a student group which promotes solar energy installations on UW campus and in the greater Seattle area. She was also involved with the International Forestry Students’ Association, which works to promote the practice and education of sustainable natural resource use in both the local and international community. Additionally, she was a part of the Hydro-biogeochemistry Research Group at UW. Teresa now works as a Sustainability Consultant at Rushing Company, a MEP engineering consulting firm in Seattle.

Forrest Laskowski
2017 Scholarship Winner

Forrest received the award during his PhD at the University of Oregon, working in Shannon Boettcher's lab. His research focused on understanding the junction dynamics of photoelectrochemical cells for hydrogen evolution. He examined the semiconductor-catalyst junction of various photoanodes (i.e. n-Si, BiVO , Fe O ), both through experiment and computation, to identify key junction properties which produce efficient solar cells. Forrest's research ultimately revealed novel design principles for producing highly efficient photoelectrochemical energy storage cells ( After completing his PhD, Forrest accepted a postdoctoral research position at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech) where he currently works on next generation batteries in Kimberly See's research lab.

Dustin Welch García
2017 Scholarship Winner

Dustin finished his PhD at the Jackson School of International Studies at the University of Washington. His research asked when and why NGO-led electrification programs catalyzed innovation in large-scale, public/private solar energy projects. Dustin now leads a consultancy, Ghost Grid | Consulting. This new venture builds upon his 10+ years of experience in the clean energy and development space. The services provided by his interdisciplinary consulting team include: research and programmatic evaluations, ethnographic fieldwork, data management, visualization, and analysis, as well as special projects that fall outside these areas.

Carolyn Virca
2016 Scholarship Winner

Carolyn received her bachelor’s of science from the University of Portland in 2013. She went on to graduate school at Portland State University where she joined the lab of Dr. Theresa McCormick studying artificial photosynthesis. During her time at PSU she founded the Portland State Women in STEM group and served as its President for three years. Carolyn earned her PhD in 2018 and moved to the University of British Columbia, where she worked in Dr. Curtis Burlinguette’s lab as a Stewart Blusson Quantum Matter Institute Fellow studying machine learning. Her research interests include transition metal chemistry, catalysis, computational chemistry and photochemistry. She is currently employed at Intel.

John Todd
2009 Scholarship Winner

John received his Master of Science in Forestry from the University of Montana in 2010.  During his time at UM's College of Forestry and Conservation, John studied the social acceptance of biomass energy in Montana at a time when its utility in Big Sky Country was under close, public scrutiny. Today, John is the Deputy Director for the Montana Wilderness Association where he puts his background in policy and public opinion to use in campaigns and programs that protect Montana's wild lands and outdoor traditions. When he's not working to protect the backcountry, you can find John, his wife, their two daughters and faithful bird dog in some of Montana's last, best places.

Oisiki Das
2008 Scholarship Winner

Oisik earned his PhD from the Centre for Advanced Composite Materials (CACM) at The University of Auckland, New Zealand. His research was focused on the utilization of biochar (obtained from pyrolysis/thermo-chemical conversion of lignocellulosic wastes) in areas of biocomposite development. Oisik did his postdoc at KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm, where he researched bio-based polymers and means to enhance their performance properties. Oisik received a master degree from Washington State University. He served MMU University, Ambala, India as Assistant Professor.  


Oisik is an Assistant Professor at Luleå University of Technology in Sweden and his research interests pertain to the development of high-value carbon materials for biocomposite applications.

P.O. Box 66043
Portland, OR 97290

©2020 by Renewable Energy Scholarship Foundation. Proudly created with